Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM the OXFORD CLASSICAL DICTIONARY ( (c) Oxford University Press USA, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Personal use only; commercial use is strictly prohibited (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

Subscriber: null; date: 20 January 2019


(correct spelling: J. Oliver, The Civic Tradition and Roman Athens (1983) 152 note 6), official name for the Roman province of Greece, commemorating Rome's defeat of the Achaean Confederacy in 146 bce (Paus. 7. 16. 20). After its initial and temporary formation by Caesar (46 bce), Augustus re-established it as a separate province (27 bce); joined to Moesia in ce 15, it was detached in 44, ‘freed’ by Nero in 67, and definitively reconstituted by Vespasianc.70. Its early boundaries were unstable, including Epirus and perhaps Thessaly (by c.150 the former was a separate province, the latter part of Macedonia). A public province, it was normally governed by junior (praetorian) proconsuls, upgraded under Constantine I to consulares. Although the procurator from Augustus on resided at Corinth, the proconsuls were itinerant (e.g. Philostr. VA 8. 23), with residences attested at Olympia (Paus. 5. 15. 2) and on Aegina (L. Robert, Hellenica1948, 5–34). Achaia at first excluded an important group of free cities, notably Athens, Sparta, Elis, and Delphi; from Constantine I these were absorbed into the proconsul's routine jurisdiction. See corrector.


B. E. Thomasson, Laterculi Praesidum I (1984), 189–202.Find this resource:

    E. Groag, Die Reichsbeamten von Achaia in spätrömischer Zeit (1946).Find this resource:

      F. Camia, Mélanges d'archéologie et d'histoire de l'École française de Rome 119 (2007), 409–19 (curatores rei publicae).Find this resource:

        Do you have feedback?