Advisory Board

The Advisory Board


is Professor of Neuroscience and Principal Investigator of the Shadlen Lab at the Kavali Institute for Brain Science at Columbia University. He is the recipient of several awards including the Golden Brain Award from the Minerva Foundation, the McKnight Scholars Award for Research in Neuroscience, and the W. Alden Spencer Award. His work examines neurons in the association cortex that process information from the visual cortex to give rise to interpretations, decisions, and plans for behavior. His experiments combine electrophysiology and behavioral and computational methods to advance our knowledge of higher brain function.




is Bridget M. Flaherty Professor of Neurology, Neurobiology and Pharmacology at the Yale School of Medicine. He is also Founder and Director for the Center for Neuroscience and Regeneration Research. Dr. Waxman has published more than 600 scientific papers. He has as edited nine books, and is the author of Spinal Cord Compression and of Clinical Neuroanatomy (translated into eight languages). He has served on the editorial boards of numerous journals including The Journal of Physiology, Brain, Annals of Neurology, Trends in Neurosciences, Nature Reviews Neurology, and Trends in Molecular Medicine, and is Editor-in-Chief of Neuroscience Letters. He is the recipient of multiple awards including the Annual Prize of the British Physiological Society, an honor he shares with Nobel Prize laureates Andrew Huxley, John Eccles, and Alan Hodgkin. He most recently was honored with the Paul Magnuson Award of the Veterans Administration for his achievements in translation of laboratory advances into new therapeutic strategies for restoration of function after injury to the brain, spinal cord and peripheral nerves.




is Founding Chief and Senior Investigator of the NIH’s Laboratory of Sensorimotor Research. Dr. Wurtz was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1988, the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 1997, the American Academy of Arts & Sciences in 1990, and he was President of the Society for Neuroscience in 1990. The focus of his research is the neurobiology of vision and eye movements.