Editorial Board


Editor in Chief


Renée Marlin-Bennett

is Professor of Political Science at Johns Hopkins University. She is the author of Knowledge Power: Intellectual Property, Information, and Privacy (2004) and Food Fights: International Regimes and the Politics of Agricultural Trade Disputes (1993), as well as the editor of Alker and IR: Global Studies in an Interconnected World (2011). She has also published numerous articles and book chapters. Prof. Marlin-Bennett conducts research on the global politics of science and technology, on embodiment and international relations, and on the nature of power. From 1987 to 2007, she served on the faculty of International Relations at the School of International Service, American University. 


Back To Top

Editorial Board

Michelle Benson

is Associate Professor of Political Science at the University at Buffalo, SUNY. Her research focuses on international and civil war, UN peacekeeping, and UN action in conflicts. Her publications include articles in the Journal of Politics, the British Journal of Political Science, the Journal of Conflict Resolution, and the Journal of Peace Research, among others.


Harry D. Gould

is Associate Professor at Florida International University. He is the author of The Legacy of Punishment in International Law (2010), editor of The Art of World-Making: Nicholas Onuf and His Critics (2017), and co-editor of Tactical Constructivism: Expressing Method in International Relations (2018). His research addresses normative issues in international politics and has appeared in multiple journals, including Review of International Studies, International Theory, International Feminist Journal of Politics, and International Legal Theory.


Janice Bially Mattern

is an independent scholar of international politics and information studies. Her research focuses on international crises, political subjectivity, and the relationship between data curation and political possibility. She is the author of Ordering International Politics: Identity, Crisis, and Representational Force (2005) as well as numerous articles. She is the former Editor in Chief of the International Studies Review (2013–15) and has held tenured appointments at Lehigh University (2003–10) and the National University of Singapore (2010–15).


Cornelia Navari

is Honorary Senior Lecturer at the University of Birmingham, UK, and Visiting Professor of International Affairs at the University of Buckingham. She has served as both Chair and Program Chair of the English School Section of ISA. Additionally, she is the author of Internationalism and the State in the Twentieth Century and Public Intellectuals and International Affairs, as well as editor of Theorizing International Society, Guide to the English School in International Studies (with Dan Green), Ethical Reasoning in International Affairs: Arguments from the Middle Ground, and Progressivism and U.S. Foreign Policy between the World Wars (with Molly Cochran).


Matthew Weinert

is Associate Professor at the University of Delaware. His research focuses on the development of architectures of global governance concerned with promoting human well-being, and thus on developing a theoretical account of what some scholars of international relations call world society. He is the author of Democratic Sovereignty: Authority, Legitimacy, and State in a Globalizing Age (2007) and Making Human: World Order and the Global Governance of Human Dignity (2015), as well as many articles and book chapters, and is currently Program Chair for the ISA's English School section.


Back To Top

Managing Editor

Sarah O’Byrne

is Program Coordinator for the Center for Governmental Studies at Johns Hopkins University. She has been teaching in the program since 2007 and currently teaches courses in global political economy, economics for public policy, political economy of development, corruption, and comparative democracies. She received an Excellent in Teaching Award in 2014. Her research and writing take an interdisciplinary approach that combines political science and economic perspectives and tools. She is currently examining the role of epistemic communities on policy outcomes, specifically in the area of development aid and corruption. She holds a BA in Economics from Trinity College, Dublin, an MA in Economics from Johns Hopkins, and Ph.D. in Political Science from Johns Hopkins.


Back To Top

Advisory Board

Mark A. Boyer

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, University of Connecticut, and Executive Director, International Studies Association

Bruce Bueno de Mesquita

Silver Professor, New York University, and Emeritus Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

Robert A. Denemark

Chair, Advisory Board for the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies, and Professor, University of Delaware

Paul F. Diehl

Ashbel Smith Professor of Political Science and Associate Provost and Director of the Center for Teaching and Learning, University of Texas, Dallas

Theo Farrell

Executive Dean of the Faculty of Law, Humanities, and the Arts, University of Wollongong, Australia

Jef Huysmans

Professor, Queen Mary University of London

Patrick James

Dornsife Dean’s Professor of International Relations, University of Southern California

Margaret Keck

Professor Emeritus and Academy Professor, Johns Hopkins University

Jacek Kugler

Elisabeth Helm Rosecrans Professor of International Relations, Claremont Graduate University

Craig Murphy

Betty Freyhof Johnson ’44 Professor of Political Science, Wellesley College

Daniel Nexon

Associate Professor, Georgetown University

Nicholas Onuf

Professor Emeritus, Florida International University

M. J. Peterson

Professor, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Brian Pollins

Associate Professor Emeritus, Ohio State University

Gerald Schneider

Professor, Universität Konstanz

Laura Sjoberg

Associate Professor, University of Florida

Etel Solingen

Thomas T. and Elizabeth C. Tierney Chair in Peace Studies, University of California, Irvine

Kendall Stiles

Professor, Brigham Young University

William R. Thompson

Distinguished Professor and the Donald A. Rogers Professor of Political Science, Indiana University, Bloomington

J. Anne Tickner

Professor Emerita, University of Southern California, and Distinguished Scholar in Residence, American University

Thomas Volgy

Professor, University of Arizona

Back To Top

Former Editors

Kathryn C. Lavelle

Case Western Reserve University

Back To Top