Show Summary Details

Page of

Printed from Oxford Research Encyclopedias, Literature. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a single article for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 14 June 2024

Glück, Louiselocked

Glück, Louiselocked

  • Janna King


Born in New York City on 22 April 1943 and educated at Sarah Lawrence College and Columbia University, Louise Glück won fame as a lyric poet with collections that include Firstborn (1968), The House on Marshland (1975), The Triumph of Achilles (1985), Ararat (1990), The Wild Iris (1992), Meadowlands (1996), Vita Nova (1999), and The Seven Ages (2001). In addition she published a book of essays about poets and writing under the title Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994). What sets Glück's brief poems apart from many lyric poems is her relationship to her material. She writes a type of intellectual lyric that maintains the formal aspects of the traditional lyric poem but generates a tough circumspection that prevents them from becoming sentimental. Her poems are direct in their tone, employing simple language and extraordinary imagery.


  • North American Literatures

You do not currently have access to this article


Please login to access the full content.


Access to the full content requires a subscription